skip to main content

College Connection Academy

About College Connection Academy
 
College Connection Academy (CCA) is an unprecedented award-winning collaborative effort between Franklin-McKinley School District, East Side Union High School District, Evergreen Valley College, and San Jose State University. The result of the collective undertaking was the start of CCA in 2008, a program for grades 7-12 housed on the campuses of Yerba Buena High School and Evergreen Valley College. The four academic partners have combined and integrated their resources to make the academy successful. CCA has the same autonomy and freedom to deal with curriculum, teaching, and learning that students at a charter school receive. Our goal is to elevate, inspire, and support students to become highly successful in college.
 
Mission Statement
 
Recognizing the need to foster a more educated workforce to meet the demands of our changing economy inspired the creation of an innovative partnership between the Franklin-McKinley School District, the East Side Union High School District, Evergreen Valley College, and San Jose State University. Our four academic communities aim to increase the number of first-generation college graduates, equipping them with the education and experience they need to succeed in life and family-supporting careers.
 
Vision Statement
 
College Connection Academy (CCA) is based on the values of college and career readiness. CCA students will be global and critical thinkers who are ethical, courageous, and compassionate. They will possess the leadership skills that allow them to navigate and succeed in a complex and challenging world with self-confidence and awareness of their responsibility to the collective community.
 
Leadership and civic engagement through CCA transforms the traditional classroom experience by interweaving hands-on, process-focused experiential learning in the context of local and global community issues. Students will learn to challenge their own comfort zone as they engage themselves and others in mindful inquiry and analyses. They will learn to handle controversial issues with civility and compassion for multiple perspectives while discovering the impact of their own action or inaction. Students will ensure there is a voice for the marginalized.
 
CCA intends to create a ripple effect that will not only change the students’ lives and the lives of their families, but also the life of their community.
Graduates of College Connection Academy will:
 
  • Be academically and emotionally prepared to take on the responsibility of young adulthood.
  • Be committed to equity and social justice.
  • Be able to create a clear vision, and share it in a way that inspires others.
  • Be confident in the power of their own voice while respecting the voices of others and sometimes speaking for those not present.
  • Be able to take time to recognize success and celebrate it.
  • Be able to see humor and appreciate it.

CCA Staff

Principal
Mary Pollett pollettm@esuhsd.org 408-347-4710
 
Associate Principals
Hien Doan doanh@esuhsd.org 408-347-4720
Marco Osuna osunam@esuhsd.org 408-347-7430
 
Parent/Community Involvement Specialists
Dalia Borrego borregod@esuhsd.org 408-347-4716 (bilingual Spanish)
Trang Ngo ngot@eushsd.org 408-347-4717 (bilingual Vietnamese)
 
Counselor
Melissa Gunn  gunnm@esuhsd.org  408-347-4743
 
English Teachers
Emily La   lae@esuhsd.org  (English 1A)
Honey Kim   kimhy@esuhsd.org (English 1A, English 2A, and AP English Language)
Kevin Lin   link@esuhsd.org  (AP English Language)
Danessa Galvez   galvezd@esuhsd.org (AP English Literature)
 
Science Teachers
Stephanie Chan   chans@esuhsd.org (Biology)
Rosemarie Calma   calmar@esuhsd.org (Biology)
Dang Sia   siad@esuhsd.org (Biology)
Chung Khong   khongc@esuhsd.org (Chemistry)
Baixin Qian   quinb@esuhsd.org (Chemistry)
 
Social Science Teachers
Emily Wells   wellse@esuhsd.org (AP World History)
Justin Ta   taj@esuhsd.org (AP US History)
William Butchko   butchkow@esuhsd.org (AP US History)
Clay Hale    halec@esuhsd.org (AP Government and AP Macroeconomics)
 
Physical Education Teachers
Miguel Cortez   cortezm@esuhsd.org (PE 1, PE 2)
Jorge Salgado    salgadojo@esuhsd.org (PE 1)
Sue Rembao   rembaos@esuhsd.org (PE 1, PE 2)
Beth Kilduff   kilduffe@esuhsd.org (PE 2)
 
Mathematics Teachers
Franklin Hsu   hsuf@esuhsd.org (Math 1)
Shawna Wei   weis@esuhsd.org (Math 1, Math 3)
David Calbreath   calbreathd@esuhsd.org (Math 1)
John Kremzar   kremzarj@esuhsd.org (Math 2)
Alexandra Cardenas   cardenasal@esuhsd.org (Math 3, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC)
Amelita Abee   abeea@esuhsd.org (Math Analysis, AP Calculus AB)
Hong Nguyen   nguyenho@esuhsd.org (Math Analysis)

2021-2022 4-Year Plan for Meeting Graduation and A-G Requirements

 
9th Grade
  • English 1A
  • Biology
  • Math, based on level
  • PE 1
  • Two electives (one Visual/Performing Art recommended)
 
10th Grade
  • English 2A
  • Chemistry
  • Math, based on level
  • PE 2
  • AP World History
  • One elective 
 
11th Grade
  • AP English Language
  • AP U.S. History
  • Math/Science/Elective/Recovery
  • College Guidance 11
  • Two courses at EVC per semester, including Language Other Than English
 
12th Grade
  • AP English Literature
  • AP Government and AP Macroeconomics (one semester each)
  • Math/Science/Elective/Recovery/Open
  • College Guidance 12
  • Two-Three courses at EVC per semester
 
*Summer school is required if a student receives a “D” or an “F” in any required course(s). Otherwise, it is optional for students who would like to advance in math, or take a course at EVC.
 

CCA 2022 Waitlist Presentation - Program Information/Orientation